Tags

Ingredients

1 bar of soap (dye-free and pure)*
2 cups washing soda
1 cup Borax
10 drops total of essential oils

Directions

Grate the bar of soap. Add to the food processor along with the washing soda and Borax. Choose your essential oil(s). Personally I like orange or lemon and lavender essential oils. Pulse until the mixture is a powder and combined well.
Keep in a sealed container and dish out with a tablespoon. I use 3-4 Tbsp of powder every load, but my water is hard, our loads are big, and our clothes are filthy. Between gardening, cleaning, playing, fixing cars, etc, our laundry is usually heavily soiled. And remember I am raising four boys; I don’t think I need to say more. Of course, you would use less soap for lighter, smaller loads.

Start the water in your washing machine and add your soap, allow it to dissolve before adding your laundry. This should eliminate any problems with powdered detergent clogging your appliances or drains. You can also add about 1/4 cup of white vinegar for smelly clothes and/or hard water. If you are washing whites, you can add 1/4 cup of hydrogen peroxide.

If I am washing bedding, I add 2 drops of eucalyptus essential oil to the water. It effectively kills dust mites and lovely things like that. Another option would be adding a few drops of grapefruit seed crush, which will do the same thing.

Making powdered laundry detergent is super simple. It smells clean and fresh. And, it is extremely inexpensive. If you are looking for an easy, effective, and economical way to clean your clothes, try this recipe and let me know what you think.

* Popular bars of store-bought soap are: Zote, Ivory, Fels-Naptha, or Kirk’s Hardwater Castile.

